CAROLINA LIAR

Carolina Liar is a Swedish-American alternative rock band , they released a major debut album in 2008 called ” Coming to Terms ” 
This is a quick interpretation of one of the tracks taken from ” Coming to terms “
The track is called – Carolina Liar – Show Me What I’m Looking For

Chad wolf (Lead vocalist) is sitting in a motel and a sudden burst of stills are shown, the first one being a poker chip , the other being some coins and at last a schooner. The camera focuses on Chad Wolf as he proceeds with the lyrics , a girl is lying just next to him with a tattoo on her forearm that reads ” Liar “.
This is when he says

“Wait, I’m wrong
Should have done better than this
Please, I’ll be strong
I’m finding it hard to resist
So show me what I’m looking for”

Chad admits his shortcoming and the path he has carved for himself , he realizes that he is wrong. He sings of being lost , confused , and says he should’ve done a better job at living right in life but he explains that he finds it hard to resist sinning
He is stuck with materialistic pleasures and has quite lost his intrinsic goal
He is desperate now and is willing to pay any cost to get his essential goal and will back

Second part 

“Don’t let go
I’ve wanted this far too long
Mistakes become regrets
I’ve learned to love abuse
Please show me what I’m looking for”

Chad calls out to not let go of this intrinsic goal , he has been craving it for a very long time but have committed some mistakes / sins which have become regrets
We can see people who are deeming and poking him to leave it and let go
They all are stuck in materialistic pleasures and are trying to drag him down
He confesses that he has no other choice to but make peace with this abuse

He yells to show him what he has been looking for as he is constantly moving

This chorus can be interpreted in different ways 

“Save me, I’m lost
Oh, Lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for
Show me what I’m looking for, oh, lord”

It’s early morning and Chad is sitting on beach with his guitar as he observes people playing around being oblivious to the reality , remembering his past and sins he continues singing “Show me what I’m looking for”
He doesn’t let go of his intrinsic goal and continues singing

OUTRO

“I’ll pay any cost
Just save me from being confused
Wait, I’m wrong
I can’t do better than this
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for”

It’s dawn as he realizes that he can’t do better than this
His level of desperation is touching it’s peak
He just wants a clear image of life and wants to stop being confused with these materialistic pleasures that have no intrinsic worth

Finally, the phrase “Show me what i’m looking for” is repeated throughout the song that relates to many people’s desire to find something more to life other than money, material possessions, fame etc.

I don’t really think he is either singing to God, or some girl to show him a way out. I feel like it’s a question to himself like when you feel lost , you ask yourself to show you the way out
He is looking for something or someone to believe in
He is trying to make sense of everything
The phrase ” Oh , lord ” shouldn’t be interpreted quite literal but hey it’s just my thoughts

I’ll end it here now
If you have any more interpretations feel free to leave it down below

xa 2.png

Enjoy your weekend
N.



 

Leave a Reply

